Kariobangi Sharks 3-0 Mathare United

Kenyan Premier League
Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Kariobangi Sharks were at their brilliant best in the Round 24 Kenyan Premier League match against Mathare United handing us a 3-0 hiding at the Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani to end our ten match unbeaten streak.

Duke Abuya opened the scoring moments before the quarter hour mark before second half substitute Ovella Ochieng’ doubled the hosts’ lead on the 81st minute mark. Masoud Juma completed the rout with a neat goal two minutes to the full time whistle.

Both sides came into this match buoyed by their last wins against Bandari and Western Stima and it was no surprise when the match got off to a flying start. Masoud Juma rattled the post with a fierce drive in the second minute before John Mwangi’s shot was heroically blocked by Geoffrey Shiveka on the other end.

Mwangi’s attempt to dink the ball into the top left corner was thwarted by an alert Mboya who back pedaled to gather cleanly and the goal that the explosive start deserved finally came. Masoud scurried down the left to beat Derrick Nzosi for pace and deliver a cutback for Abuya.

Abuya opener 

The former Mathare United player drew Levis Opiyo off his line before slotting calmly into the bottom right corner. The visitors sought a reply almost immediately but they were unlucky to see Nzosi’s well taken freekick come off the upright with Mboya well beaten.

Masoud could have doubled his tally five minutes before the half hour mark but his diving header from Paul Kamau’s cross went inches wide. A scrappy period of play ensued thereafter before Matthew Odongo almost grabbed the cushion goal for Sharks. Again it was the left side that they exploited, this time Odongo bamboozling Nzosi before shifting the ball to his favoured left boot but his effort was brilliantly saved by Opiyo at the near post.

Francis Kimanzi played his first card introducing on form Elijah Mwanzia at the restart and the tide swung his side’s way. George Owino thought he had got the equalizer but he failed to capitalize on a rare error from Robert Mboya who came off his line to gather a freekick from Nzosi but he fumbled.

A well-rehearsed counter attacking move from Sharks on the other end culminated in Masoud playing Elli Asieche through but the latter directed his shot straight at Opiyo. Moments later Masoud wasted three clear cut chances to score with Opiyo coming out tops twice in one on one situations.

Missed penalty 

Then center referee Davies Omweno handed us a lifeline on the 63rd minute mark when he awarded a penalty following Paul Kamau’s hand ball in the area. Crispin Oduor stepped forward to take it but Mboya read his intentions perfectly to go full stretch to his right and palm the ball to safety.

In a bid to pile more pressure Kimanzi sent Brian Nyakan into the fray and his opposite number William Muluya replied by replacing Asieche with Ovella. Ovella’s first touch saw his curling effort destined for the top left corner go wide but he made amends shortly afterwards.

Ovella volley

The industrious Odongo embarked on yet another mazy run on the right before sending a low cross into the box. Masoud produced a clever dummy to leave Ovella completely unmarked behind him. The Kenyan international made no mistake rifling the ball in past a hapless Opiyo.

Ovella could have added another goal to his tally shortly afterwards when Abuya picked his run with a low cross but his connection went straight at Opiyo. There was still time left for Masoud to amend for his earlier misses and he did well to beat the offside trap before racing into the box where he curved the ball past the despairing dive of Opiyo into the top left corner.

The loss leaves us rooted at 15th place with 25 points, three above the relegation zone. League action resumes on Sunday with a tie against Tusker. 

Starting XI: 30. Levis Opiyo (GK) 16.David Owino 21. Derrick Nzosi (74’ 20.Martin Ongori)6. George Owino (C) 23. Lennox Ogutu 22. Roy Okal (46’ 17. Elijah Mwanzia) 4.Edward Seda 29. Chrispin Oduor 14.Derrick Onyango 9. Chris Ochieng’ (69’ 19. Brian Nyakan) 13. John Mwangi

Unused subs: 1. Mark Kioko (GK) 12.Andrew Juma 24. Victor Ashinga 27. Tyson Otieno 15. Ronald Reagan